The French public sector complies with the accessibility guidelines prescribed by the RGAA (Référentiel général d’amélioration de l’accessibilité), pursuant to Loi No 2005-102 of 11 February 2005.

The RGAA, as the General Accessibility Improvement Framework, sets out the regulatory guidelines to be followed and provides a verification method for the accessibility of the websites concerned.

The latter includes all web communication channels of the French State, local authorities, and public bodies, as well as public and private organizations carrying out activities of general interest under the control of a public body.

RGAA 4.1: Guidelines for Web Accessibility in France

Version 4 of the RGAA was adopted by the Minister for Disabilities and the Minister for Digital Affairs in 2019, providing an updated version of the technical criteria that ensure the accessibility of applications and web content.

The RGAA 4.1 guidelines are based on the international WCAG 2.0 guidelines outlined by the World Wide Web Congress.

Learn more about the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)

A list of 106 criteria is also available for users to evaluate the accessibility of their website, divided into 13 macro-categories:

  • Pictures
  • Frames
  • Colors
  • Media
  • Tables
  • Links
  • Script
  • Required elements
  • Information Architecture
  • Presentation of information
  • Navigation Forms
  • Consultation

On the other hand, native mobile applications, software packages, and digital signage are not included in the RGAA 4.1 guidelines, so it will be necessary to verify the implementation of the reference standards directly.

Sources and regulations


Try OpenAble on your website